Government of Canada Announces New Heritage Lighthouse Designations

September 22, 2016                  Ottawa, Ontario                         Parks Canada Agency

The Government of Canada continues to preserve heritage lighthouses across Canada for future generations.

Succeeding July’s announcement, the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Catherine McKenna, along with Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Fisheries, Oceans and the Canadian Coast Guard, have announced the designation of three more heritage lighthouses

With these new designations, a total of 90 lighthouses in eight provinces have now been protected under the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act – and more designations will follow.

The lighthouses designated today are the St. Peters Harbour Lighthouse, a square, tapered, wooden lighthouse with an unusual hexagonal lantern located in Prince Edward Island; the Woody Point Lighthouse located in Newfoundland and Labrador, which is surrounded by Gros Morne National Park and is an important landmark from both land and water; and the Cape St. Marys Lighthouse located in Nova Scotia, one of a series of lighthouses from this location to provide navigational aid for shipping and fishing fleets in the Gulf of Maine and the Bay of Fundy for almost 150 years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: